The Man, The Baddest and The Queen – WRESTLEMANIA XXXV PREVIEW

wrestlemania 35

WRESTLEMANIA XXXV PREVIEW

 

As disillusioned as I am with WWE and the current product, I’ll always be excited for WrestleMania although it is a different feel than previous years and it was later than ever I started to feel the WrestleMania buzz. But I’m feeling it, def more subdued tho as the last 3 matches at WrestleMania 34 + the Saudi connection killed my interest more than anything ever has. Having said all that, there is no way I can not write something after the rise of The Man and watching 3 women earn the WM main event. Plus there are other matches I am personally very excited to see like Bryan vs Kofi it’s actually a very good card on paper I just think the build could have been better for most. Add in an awesome Hall of Fame class and you have what should end up as a great show. So let’s get the preview started with the Hall of Fame class:

 

D-Generation X

DX hOf

– even though they were directly opposing Bret Hart and the Hart Foundation, from Day 1 I was a huge DX mark. The original DX came around at a time in my life where I was a teenager looking for an outlet for the attitude building in me so I fully embraced it. Not that I went around telling everyone to Suck It, fear of my parents and respect for elders made sure there was none of that. But it taught me it was ok to fight against authority and rules if they were unjust. Everyone knows the DX moments and we will see them a lot this weekend so I’ll skip the list and just say my fav is the DX election speech lol still can’t believe that was real.

I am most excited for CHYNA and X-PAC to be finally known as Hall of Famers, both are more than deserving. Chyna was the x-factor, no pun intended, that put all versions of DX over the top. 123 Kid is a legend no doubt he could get in just on that run.

I wanted NAO in the original DX so bad but that DX lineup was still great, some I’m sure would argue greater. Just sucks Rude is excluded, really helped the original make a ‘Holy shit’ impact.

 

The Hart Foundation

hart foundation hof

-breaks my heart the Anvil couldn’t be here for it. To me the Hart Foundation is the perfect contrast of styles which in theory should make the best team. The power and strength of the Anvil combined with the speed and athleticism of the Hitman, it’s no wonder they could go with any team you put them with. Their matches with the Bulldogs are untouchable as far as quality goes, that entire 80’s tag team wrestling run of greatness owes a huge thanks to the Hart Foundation. I am excited to see the video package and hear the speeches, Harts are like family so it feels like watching family be honoured.

 

Harlem Heat

harlem heat hof

– similar combinations of power and speed as the Hart Foundation yet much different. Bret Hart and Booker T both possess the speed/athleticism for their team yet are 2 completely different performers. Bret/Booker also become the first men to be inducted as both singles and Tag team wrestlers so they are now in a special class. Stevie Ray and the Anvil are def the power/strength of their team but are more similar than Bret/Booker. I loved watching Harlem Heat matches bc of how great they were at utilizing your strengths. You would be hard pressed to find a bad Harlem Heat match.

Torrie Wilson

torrie hof

-1 of the most beautiful women God ever put on this earth and seems to have the character to match as I have never heard a bad thing about Torrie. But she never just coasted on her looks, she actively worked to get better and she did. Nobody would say she is at the level of the 4 Horsewomen but that wasn’t her role or the environment at the time. Could she have got there with the training and path they have now, absolutely. Her matches still entertained even if they weren’t ***** classics. Haven’t even mentioned her 2 Hall of Fame worthy Playboy shoots, the shoot with Sable was everything a wrestling fan could dream of lol and her SD! Segment with Dawn Marie (you know the one) is the hottest thing ever shown on any wrestling TV. Hall of Famer no fn doubt lol

 

Honky Tonk Man

honky tonk man hof

-1 of the wrestlers that defines 80’s wrestling for me, another 1 of my Uncles lol loved to hate him as a kid he was always entertaining. He could pull off stall tactics to perfection, drove me insane as a kid taking 15 min to finally get the action going I just wanted his ASS kicked haha he wrestled during a time where a heel’s job was to piss people off enough that they would pay to see him get beat up, that’s why he was Intercontinental Champion for so long people HATED Honky. Never a technical marvel but he didn’t have to be, he was a Hall of Fame heel and certainly deserves this honour. ‘Peggy Sue’s beside me, the Colonel’s in the back, I’m gonna tour your town in my pink Cadillac’ lol legendary theme too.

 

Brutus ‘The Barber’ Beefcake

brutus the barber beefcake hof

-Brut-eye is another Uncle in the class of guys that define 80’s wrestling for me. 1 of my fav wrestlers as a kid, had some serious charisma and could go in the ring. People forget how good the Dream Team was, had a great run before the Barber was ever a thing. Funny to hear him say he hated the gimmick and was miserable the first shoot lol interesting how things turn out easily best thing that ever happened to him. It’s a miracle he is even here considering he survived one of the most brutal accidents I’ve heard about, whoever called out and made him turn around prob saved his life bc an impact like that to the back of the head is prob instant. Makes it even worse to hear he would have won the IC Title from Mr Perfect at SummerSlam but it is what it is. Happy he is finally being honoured on his own as a deserved Hall of Famer.

 

Sue Aitchison

sue aitchison hof

-1 of the unsung heroes of WWE finally gets her time on the spotlight. Just look at the response across the wrestling world to see how much work this lady has put in and how much she has contributed to building the WWE we know today. I believe this is the kind of person the Ultimate Warrior talked about wanting to be honoured and is very deserving of standing alongside the other incredible recipients of the Warrior Award.

 

KICK OFF SHOW

wrestlemania-35- murphy vs nese

WWE Cruiserweight Title

©Buddy Murphy vs Tony Nese

-Didn’t know anything about Tony Nese when I watched the Cruiserweight Classic but he def stood out. Since then I’ve been impressed watching him put in the same effort whether he is fighting for the title or watching other people have their shot, I never see him phone it it. Buddy Murphy has become the ring general on 205, every match he is in is great and it doesn’t seem like we have seen the best of him yet. Really looking forward to what these guys bring us on the biggest stage.

Who I want to Win: Tony Nese

Who Will Win: Tony Nese

the andre wm 35

The Andre

-I think this is Braun Stroman’s time to add his name to the trophy. I don’t mind Colin Jost and Michael Che being in it, my only criticism is Jost plays it a bit too fake he is lucky it’s 2019 lol it’s good publicity and as long as they don’t win it’s all good. Id love to see an upset to shake things up, my top 3 upset picks: Andrade, Mustafa Ali, Bobby Roode

Who I want to Win: Mustafa Ali

Who Will Win: BRAAAAAAUUUUUUUUUNNNN!!!!

the sherri wm 35

The Sherri

-Women having been crushing Battle Royals, last 2 at WM 34 and Evolution were really good. No clear favourite in this one which def makes it more interesting. Too bad they just gave it a generic name instead of something awesome like the Sensational Invitational Battle Royal after Sherri Martel. I wonder if the WrestleMania Host Alexa Bliss will make an appearance. So many great choices: Mandy Rose is getting a deserved push and this would be another rocket to add to that. Dana Brooke is an underrated performer that would be elevated by winning. Any of the Riott Squad would be a great choice. Nikki Cross is a good underdog pick that would benefit from the win. Def making sure I’m watching for this one.

Who I want to Win: Mandy Rose

Who Will Win: Ruby Riott

 

MAIN SHOW

revival vs major bros wm 35

WWE Raw Tag Team Championship

©The Revival vs The Major Bros

-On one hand you might think it was an insult for this to be the Revival match and not vs Roode/Gable. However the better story is the Major Bros finally ending Curt Hawkins streak at fn WrestleMania and what better team to tee that story up but the best. If it’s a bullshit match with a quick roll-up finish or something I take it back but if they give them a bit of time to get the crowd going then this will be great.

Who I want to Win: Major Bros

Who Will Win: Major Bros

SD! Tag Titles wm 35

WWE SmackDown! Tag Team Championships – Date: Rusev Day April 7, 1019

©The Usos vs Ricochet/Aleister Black vs The Bar vs Rusev/Nakamura

-I don’t know how much time there is to go around but this is gonna be crazy no matter what. Prob getting 10-15 min so I’m guessing there isn’t gonna much down time. Id love to see a Rusev/Nakamura upset since WrestleMania falls on Rusev Day this year! Lol but if not them then the Usos getting a win on the WrestleMania stage would be big for their legacy as 1 of, if not the best tag team of all time.

Who I want to Win: Rusev/Nakamura

Who Will Win: The Usos

womens tag tiles wm 35

WWE Women’s Tag Team Titles

©Boss n Hug Connection vs Divas of Doom vs The IIconics vs Nia Jax/Tamina

-Cool surprise when the Boss N Hug showed up in NXT, will make the belts mean more defending them on all 3 shows but should prob stick to Raw/SD! For the most part. I saw a stat on reddit saying Tamina has gone the longest time on the main roster without a title so I def want her to win the titles at some point. But I do not think Nia should be winning the titles same night as Becky’s big moment. Actually always thought Nia/Piper Niven could be a fun, dominant team.Gonna be great to see Beth Phoenix back and get to work with Bayley/Sasha, Natalya winning on her Dad’s big night would be a moment for sure. But if Boss n Hug don’t retain then I want to see the IIconics with the upset. No better time to pull the trigger with them they’ve put in great work. Hope they get some time. Sucks Sasha/Bayley can’t be in the main event but could make history as well with a title defence.

Who I want to Win: The IIconics

Who Will Win: Boss n Hug

reigns vs mcintyre wm 35

The Big Dog and the Scottish Psychopath

Roman Reigns vs Drew McIntyre

-What a miracle and blessing it is to not only have Roman in remission but have him back in a match at this years WrestleMania. Thought there was no chance he wrestled on this one so I’m gonna enjoy this.  Will be interesting to see just how physical they can push it, you know it will be physical but these guys have another level it might not be a good idea to go to. Or it may be he’s back and there is no looking back. I think it’s better for both characters if Drew wins, he gets the strongest win of his career and Roman coming off a loss could have a great ‘Do I still have it’ story to work through the summer if they wanted to do it.

Who I want to Win: Drew McIntyre

Who Will Win: Roman Reigns

miz vs shane wm 35

Falls Count Anywhere

Shane McMahon vs The Miz

-These guys have built up an entertaining story leading to this match that should be really good esp with the stip they added. Since Shane just turned heel, there is def more matches left in this feud so to me Miz should win. As a tag team Miz consistently lost for them and then wins in a singles match. Would be easy for a heel Shane to play off. WrestleMania is usually where you payoff feuds but there is more money to be made in this one.

Who I want to Win: The Miz

Who Will Win: Shane McMahon

styles vs orton wm 35

The Phenomenal One vs The Legend Killer

AJ Styles vs Randy Orton

-this is one of the top matches I am looking forward too I can’t wait. The promo they cut a few weeks ago was one of the best back n forth promo’s I’ve seen in a long time. They both crushed each other with some serious verbal shots and really made you feel like neither guy wants to lose to each other. Walking the line of “shoot” and kayfabe perfectly. Underrated promo people are def sleeping on it. AJ Styles could benefit from the win more than Orton plus that could keep the feud going for a couple more matches.

Who I want to Win: AJ Styles

Who Will Win: Randy Orton

angle vs corbin wm 35

The Last One

Kurt Angle vs Baron Corbin

-people were def disappointed that Corbin was Angle’s last opponent, and I’ll admit I was hoping for Cena that would have been awesome. But Corbin actually has a pretty good, long term story vs Angle which makes sense to culminate w this match. This gimmick hides how great Corbin is but his move-set is 1 of the best and End of Days is a top 10 finisher. Angle gains nothing by winning, ppl will be PISSED if Corbin wins. I think only Austin Aries has kicked out of EoD so could be a great finish for Angle to kick out once or twice before the second or third finally ends it. Pumped for this one.

Who I want to Win: Baron Corbin

Who Will Win: Kurt Angle

joe vs rey wm 35

WWE United States Championship Match

©Samoa Joe vs Rey Mysterio

-hope that Rey Mysterio can go I think his ankle injury this week was legit. If he can’t go then Cena better get the tag bc if we can’t get Joe/Rey, Joe/Cena is def a suitable replacement. Pretty sure this is Joe’s first WM so hopefully not a quick match and something they can make memorable. Whether it’s vs REy or Cena I hope that Joe walks out with the title. Gonna be a fun match.

Who I want to Win: Samoa Joe

Who Will Win: Samoa Joe

balor vs lashley 2 wm 35

WWE Intercontinental Championship Match

©Bobby Lashley vs Finn Balor

-Looks like we are getting the demon so what we gain for match time by this prob being a fast n serious ass kicking by demon Balor we lose to the entrance lol all good will be worth it to see the demon entrance at WrestleMania. I think we see a new champion here would be kinda crazy to bring it out for him to lose but ya never know. For Lashley after this, I don’t know why they won’t do Lashley vs Lesnar bc I def want to see it.

Who I want to Win: Finn Balor

Who Will Win: Finn Balor

hhh vs batista wm 35

GIVE ME WHAT I WANT!!

No Hold Barred

HHH vs Batista

-this is gonna be awesome, it will get time and this is prob the last one for Batista as well so he will be at his best but hopefully Vince can talk him into more lol I always wanted to see  Batista wrestle in Drax paint, the place would go banana but looks like this will be it. I expect them to put on a great match and send Batista off properly. ‘GIVE ME WHAT I WANT’ lol What a gift Batista left us with I loved that promo. Will be interesting to see who the crowd goes with in the match I could see it going either way. I wanted Batista to win but don’t want HHH to retire yet so gonna be on the edge of my seat

Who I want to Win: Batista

Who Will Win: HHH

lesnar vs rollins wm 35

WWE Universal Championship Match

© Brock Lesnar vs Seth Rollins

-hopefully this match is structured around making Seth Rollins a bigger star but I could def see Lesnar winning after what they did to reigns last year. With this match Brock will have fought every member of the Shield in a singles match and he is 2-0, Rollins the last hope for the Shield. How fitting but gonna need to break out a special performance. Brock is an attraction but he hurts matches like this when he only shows up so often and it’s the same formula we see every time. Seth Rollins is def a face of the company type guy and it’s long past time to try and really make another star. A strong, decisive win vs Lesnar on the WrestleMania stage would def be a star-making moment.

Who I want to Win: Seth Rollins

Who Will Win: Brock Lesnar

bryan vs kofi wm 35

WWE Championship Match

©Daniel Bryan vs Kofi Kingston

-KofiMania. Are we really here lol I know the New day got him here and are his brothers but he needs to come out to SOS. Would get the thousands in attendance and millions around the world hyped up big time. For so long Kofi has been the guy that people bring up when they talk about ‘Best wrestler to never win a world title’ or in a conversation about guys that deserve a Title run but never got it. He has put in great performances as a singles wrestler, Tag Team wrestler, comedy, serious, whatever he was asked to do he did great, yet never received a run with a World title. Unfortunately, Mustafa Ali’s heartbreaking loss was the chance Kofi needed to finally receive the opportunity he has long deserved. I’m sure Mustafa Ali’s time will come again but right now it’s Kofi’s turn. Thought it was coming at Fastlane but fans wanted it at WrestleMania and looks like they’re actually gonna give it to us. Not holding my breath I could def see DB winning but I gotta believe this was destiny for Kofi to rise in this moment. The match should be unbelievable, crowd should be HOT. This match saved my WrestleMania hype, no matter what any other match did there is no way I would miss this. Really excited to see it play out but I’ll be dying till I see the 3 count for Kofi lol

 

Who I want to Win: Kofi Kingston

Who Will Win: Kofi Kingston

main event wm 35

THE MAIN EVENT – Winner Take All

WWE Raw & SD! Women’s Championship Match

©Ronda Rousey vs ©Charlotte Flair vs Becky Lynch

-what a breath of fresh air the rise of The Man has been, an organic build of fan support that propelled Becky Lynch into not only the main event scene but the Main Event of WrestleMania! Ronda Rousey and her journey being the baddest woman on the planet def was a big influencer on WWE to look at their Women’s division differently. Charlotte Flair has been consistently great for years and that makes sure the women are held to a high standard and the women’s wrestling is looked at legitimately. All 3 women played a significant role in making this match possible so I wouldn’t have this match any other way. Ok I would have taken Becky vs Ronda lol but I am beyond pumped to watch it and see what kind of greatness these 3 deliver to us.

An artist named Becky Shaheen had one of her songs used for The Walking Dead S9 trailer and it was perfect, built big time hype the entire video. Becky Shaheen has another song called ‘Stand Up and Fight’ that I thought would have worked perfect for a video package for this match. Wish I had the skills but I was hoping for a Rock/Austin level hye video to really sell this thing but I haven’t seen it yet. Plus you have the name Becky as a connection too. Oh well lol

Def wish the build had been better, this match could/should have much more mainstream steam behind it. The last angle on Raw with the fighting backstage and the cop cars was great stuff but didn’t work as the final angle for me. Would have been perfect a few weeks ago and then they could do something more serious to finish. I just think of a mainstream fan watching for the first time, segment was more ‘funny ha-ha’ than serious and I believe the serious will be the thing that makes sure they are watching April 7.

Still it was a really fun segment and that’s what wrestling is all about. Nothing they do could take away from how great this match will be and the closer we get the more people’s excitement and anticipation will build. The match will deliver I have no doubts about that.

The culmination to the rise of The Man has to be victory here, even more so now with the Winner Take All stip. Becky Lynch goes from the kickoff show to the Main Event in 1 year. She got the fans supporting her like we have never seen them support a female wrestler. Becky’s matches have delivered top quality results every time. Don t see why you would mess around with the momentum The Man has built and not have her walk out the winner here. But I’m nervous, I am less an less sure Becky wins the closer we get lol I think they go with Becky here but you could make a case for both Ronda and Charlotte so it is no slam dunk by any stretch.

Pressure is bigger than it’s been for any women’s match in the history of wrestling, really goin out on a limb there lol but you have to deliver in this spot. With the historic nature of it, they should have a hot crowd no matter what we see before hand so it will be up to Becky/Charlotte/Ronda to hit a home run.

Who I want to Win: The Man

Who Will Win: Ronda Rousey

 

And that is it wow it’s def gonna be a marathon lol but I love it as long as the action is great. I could and could watch all day. This card on paper def looks great but with their talent roster all the cards could look great. It’s about pulling it off when the pressure is cookin the hottest and it doesn’t get hotter than WrestleMania. Hoping that they can find a balance of time and give the matches that have potential to be something special enough time to do it. But it’s WrestleMania and there is only so much time. History is being made with the first Women’s Main Event and I’m glad I’m here to witness it. Chances the Big 3, Becky/Kofi/Rollins all win are slim to none but we have taken a lot of shit from WWE over the years, would be nice to have a night of epic wins that make sense.

For fun I’ll post below my match line-up and times using the match times from WM 34 but I’ll have to find a bit more with 2 more matches.

 

Opener – The Revival vs The Major Bros – 8:00 min

2 – Shane McMahon vs The Miz – 10:15 min

3 – Samoa Joe vs Rey Mysterio – 8:15 min

4 – AJ Styles vs Randy Orton – 10:10 min

5 – Kurt Angle vs Baron Corbin – 10:25 min

6 – Daniel Bryan vs Kofi Kingston – 25:00 min

7 – Drew McIntyre vs Roman Reigns – 11:30 min

8 – Womens Tag Team Titles – 13:05 min

9 – HHH vs Batista – 15:46 min

10 – SD! Tag Team Titles – 8:08 min

11 – Seth Rollins vs Brock Lesnar  – 19:37 min

12 – Lashley vs Balor – 2:45 min

13 – The Man vs The Baddest Woman on the Planet vs The Queen – 28:35 min

 

Damn that ain’t easy lol Well that brings us to 171 minutes and 31 seconds of ring time which is just under 3 hours. That leaves 2 hours to fill out the main card with entrances, promos, packages, Hall of Fame and the extra little skits we see at WrestleMania. It also possibly leaves room to add a few more minutes to some of the matches with lower times. Great matches are the best way to sell WrestleMania as a must see event and the certainly have the card to deliver serious greatness on Sunday.

‘WRESTLEMANIA BABY WOOO’ – Big Show LOL

*Found this on reddit and had to snag it, poster in the style of the first WrestleMania just awesome work. All the credit goes to the user from reddit that created it –  u/cal_hallum – Link to the thread https://www.reddit.com/r/SquaredCircle/comments/b9j37d/i_made_a_poster_in_the_style_of_the_original/

wm 35 match card

Leave a comment